Home > All News > News Headline
05 MAY 2019
Whincup pace puts Holden on Perth podium
Five Holden Commodore Supercars have finished in the top-10 on completion of tonight's feature race at the Perth SuperNight event, Round 5 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship.

Red Bull Holden Racing Team driver Jamie Whincup started from the front row of the grid and rocketed to the lead off the startline.

Unfortunately for the Holden factory driver the win just eluded him, with the #88 Commodore finishing in second behind eventual winner Scott McLaughlin.

"We've come along way with the car from Phillip Island [last round] and I'm really proud of the crew, the team maximised the speed this weekend but we'll head back to the workshop and put more work in, we'll keep fighting," Whincup said.

"I just want to thank everyone out here this weekend, it was a cracker event over here in Perth, racing at night."

The second Red Bull Holden of Shane van Gisbergen was the next best Commodore home in fifth on conclusion of tonight's 83-lap feature.

It was a positive night for the Erebus squad with both David Reynolds and Anton de Pasquale picking up sixth and seventh respectively behind the wheel of their Penrite Holdens.
Running the striking new Holden Guaranteed Value livery for the event, Nick Percat got off to a flying start in both races after strong qualifying performances.

Percat's result on Saturday was an impressive one as the third quickest Holden, with a seventh place result, backing it up tonight with a 10th place finish.

"It was good on Saturday, we got a really good start and result and it's a credit to everyone out here and everyone at Supercars, this is really good what they've done to put this night race together," said Percat.

Friday night's shorter 50-lap race saw four Holdens fill the top-10 for the opening race of the Pirtek Perth SuperNight event at Barbagallo Raceway.

Whincup picked up the best result for the roaring lion with the #88 Red Bull Holden Commodore finishing in fourth.

Teammate van Gisbergen came home behind Whincup in fifth with the pair scrapping it out in a tight fought battle over the final laps of the 120km race.

Van Gisbergen's dual fifth place results has pushed him up the leaderboard to third overall in the drivers' standings.

Rounding out the top-10 on Saturday was the Penrite Racing Holden Commodore of David Reynolds.

Round 6 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship takes crews to regional Victoria for the Winton SuperSprint on May 24-26.
23 Aug - 25 Aug 2019
Practice 1
Days Hours Mins Secs
  • Friday
    • Practice 1 30 Minutes 13:10 - 13:40
    • Practice 2 30 Minutes 15:40 - 16:10
  • Saturday
    • Practice 3 30 Minutes 10:00 - 10:30
    • Qualifying Race 21 40 Minutes 12:35 - 13:15
    • Race 21 24 Laps 15:25 - 16:20
  • Sunday
    • Practice 4 30 Minutes 09:00 - 09:30
    • Qualifying Race 22 40 Minutes 10:50 - 11:30
    • Race 22 41 Laps 13:40 - 15:05

Should Supercars change the kerb strike technology?
Yes - invest in better technology used in other categories
No - Change track designs to use non technical methods (tyres etc)
No - Drivers need to learn the track limits

You must be signed in to cast your vote
Supercar Drivers Championship
1 Scott McLaughlin Ford 2438  
2 Shane Van Gisbergen Holden 1944  
3 Fabian Coulthard Ford 1927  
4 Chaz Mostert Ford 1898  
5 Jamie Whincup Holden 1798  
Supercar Teams Championship
1 DJR Team Penske 4365  
2 Triple Eight Race Engineering 3742  
3 Tickford Racing (5/55) 3299  
4 Erebus Motorsport 3092  
5 Brad Jones Racing (8/14) 2698  
Supercar Manufacturer Championship
1 Ford 15
2 Holden 2
3 Nissan 0
Contact Us | Donate | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright Information | Championship History
Copyright © 2017, Daily Dump. All Rights Reserved.